Earworms

I write about songs.

Superchunk, “Watery Hands,” “Throwing Things”

Last night we played soccer in Prospect Park with some friends. The last time I played soccer was probably in 1984, for high school gym class, and so I was a little rusty, to say the least. We played with two teams of four, and it took me the first fifteen minutes to remember who was on my team. I didn’t get any fantastic kicks in, and when I did kick the ball, I’d forget that I was supposed to be kicking it to someone—I’d look up and realize that I was kicking it in the direction of our opponents. But once or twice I did some good defense. I know this because a few times the ball came towards me, and other players came after the ball, and there’d be a quick little kerfuffle in which my foot would graze the ball, which then went off in a different direction, and the other members of the team would say “good defense.” Mostly I just ran around, hoping that I wasn’t ruining the game. But everyone was nice, and there was no one yelling at me “Why didn’t you cover him?!?” or “What are you, afraid of the goddam ball?” like there was in high school. It was a pretty good reminder, if I needed one, of why being an adult is so much better than being a teenager.

Today I feel too sore and sluggish to come up with any high-concept blog posts. I just landed on the above Superchunk video, though, which I’ve always thought was very funny, so I’ll post it. The video is so funny, in fact, it’s easy to forget that the song is really good too. The “directors” are played by David Cross and Janeane Garofalo.

Superchunk often tucks acoustic versions of its songs on b-sides, and I always like those, sometimes better than the original band versions. This is one of their early songs, performed by two of the group’s members, Mac MacCaughan and Laura Ballance, at a bookstore last year, on a tour to celebrate the twentieth anniversary of Merge, the record label they own, and the publication of a book chronicling its history.

Written by peterterzian

August 8, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Posted in Superchunk

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

