Earworms

I write about songs.

Aztec Camera, “Oblivious,” “Spanish Horses”

“Oblivious” sounds as good here as it ever did, and it’s my favorite Aztec Camera song just like it’s everybody’s, but I don’t have any particular associations with it. Some years later, though, I flew to England to visit my friend Kim—my first trip to England, and my first international flight alone. I flew overnight and slept restlessly most of the way, and when I woke up in the morning we were an hour or so outside of London. I felt groggy and crummy, but the sky outside was perfectly blue (possibly the only blue sky I was to see for the trip), and I found “Spanish Horses” on the Virgin music program. Even though the song was ostensibly about Barcelona, it seemed to contain all of my nervous excitement about arriving in a new city. I was working at a Boston bookstore that was owned by an English company; half of the staff was British, so my pockets were stuffed with lists of places my friends had told me to visit, of people to look up, of books and music I hoped to buy.

Written by peterterzian

August 23, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Posted in Aztec Camera

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

